Babble away you 4 year old gymnast!

So yesterday I noticed that my brother was babbling A-LOT. And when I mean a lot, I mean constant ‘blahblahblah-blah-blahblahblah’. So I decided to have a conversation with him. I was afraid that if I were to use actual words to interact with him, he may stop babbling. I had the imitation theory in mind so I thought I’d just copy him, as if he’s teaching me to talk/babble. Even though I had NO IDEA what was being said, he continued to babble. And when I stopped babbling, he’d start off again. And so on.

I think its really great because it gives him a chance to in a way, interact and get him to exercise his muscles? o.o I dunno what would have happened if I had spoken to him with actual words so I’m thinking when he does babble again, I’ll use words and see what happens. Oh and really simple sentences like, ‘What are you doing?’

Another thing I realised that he does a lot are hand stands and roli-polies. The handstands that he does, he’ll basically put his head on the sofa and do a handstand whilst leaning against the sofa. And I think he knows that he shouldn’t be doing it because when you call his name or approach him, he’ll stop doing it and times he’ll roll out into a roli poli making you go all ‘Woah!’. I don’t know where he learnt it all from but it’s very entertaining 😀 I know for a fact that I couldn’t do a handstand till I was like 12 o.o But it is nice to see him be a kid. I think people need to realise that just because he has Autism, it doesn’t make him different from any other child. Yes, he CAN have fun just like any other child.

It’s honestly the best feeling in the world when I see him prove my point of kids with autism being able to act like any other kid :’)

Leave a Reply

