It makes sense.

So I’m currently reading  ‘Ten Things Every Child with Autism Wishes You Knew’ by Ellen Notbohm and I came across and extract which she included in her book that opened my eyes:

‘Two roads diverged in a wood, and I —
I took the one less travelled by,
and that has made all the difference’

    -Robert Frost

I first heard this in The Suite Life of Zack and Cody but jokes aside, this made complete and total sense to me. It never really occurred to me to look at my brother as someone who took the road that was less travelled by. But now that I do, it makes sense. The fact that my brother has Autism isn’t the end of the world. When we first told- sure but realistically, it isn’t. He’s still healthy. It’s just, he has troubles with his communication and understanding and because of this, he took the road (not on purpose of course) that not majority of the population travel by. And that has made all the difference. He’s still the same as any other child, but the fact that he took the road thats less travelled by.

I can actually relate this poem to something that I did today that many can relate to. It’s so common, I’m actually cringing right now. On my way back from college, I decided to take a different route home. I don’t really go down this route much but still, I managed to get home. And that has made all the difference.

I made a choice, and I try to make the best out of that choice (even though theres nothing fun about walking home o.o) however my brother, even though he didn’t have a choice, we still have to make the best out of that choice because we can’t ever change whats happened. And I believe that because he took the road less travelled by, it will shape him as an individual with unique traits that make him different..  just like everyone else. And I think being able to see all the improvements in the future it something worth waiting for.

You can read an extract from her book here: (at least I think it’s an extract)

http://www.ellennotbohm.com/article-archive/ten-things-every-child-with-autism-wishes-you-knew/

Leave a Reply

